Appalachian State University's North Carolina Eta Chapter

Pi Mu Epsilon is an Honor Society dedicated to the promotion of student scholarly activity in mathematics and the recognition of students who successfully pursue mathematical understanding. The Eta chapter was founded at Appalachian State University in 1976.

Pi Mu Epsilon's National Website
Minimum Requirements for Consideration
Induction Ceremony Information

Faculty Advisors: Sarah Greenwald and Jill Thomley


2022-2023: Nicolas Peter Garzone, Nick Hicks, Aaron S Lubkemann and Kate Metzger

2021-2022: Lillian Rose T. Mazaleski and Christian Alan Payne

2019-2020: Jordan D. Greene, Molly Kirk Martin, and Lindsey Wise

2018-2019: Charlotte Marian Dalton Cave, William Arthur Dulaney, Leah Hurt, Jennifer R. LeBlanc, Briquelle Martin, Samuel Powell, and Allison C. Staley

2017-2018: Katie D. Bowman, Ryan Hadenfeld, Catherine Lattimore, Faith E. Miller, Sydney Singleton, and Jennifer Stevenson

2016-2017: Brianna Bentley, Emily Connor, Jaehee K. Post, and James Kevin Winfree

2015-2016: Lee A. Fisher, Nadine Lambert, Elisabeth Moore, Kathryn Poslusny, Huy Quang Tu, and Kelsey Vanek

2014-2015: Stacey Eugene Burchette, Ralph Elie Chikhany, Amber Hazelwood, Noah Avery Hughes, Matthew Dolan Jobrack, Rebecca Alise Overcash, and (Samuel) Luke Tunstall
Dr. Vicky Klima: We have decided to honor Dr. Klima at this time in order to publicly recognize her long-term service as honors coordinator along with the impressive number of student scholarly projects she has supervised. We applaud her efforts to encourage student scholarly activity in the department.

2013-2014: Ashley Marie Bandy, Thomas A. Cook, Christopher James Forbis, Noah Avery Hughes, Antony-James Kern, Thomas Lynch, Adam M. Reeder, and Tracy Ann Taylor.

2012-2013: Amanda Lynn Davis, Meredith Branham, Caleb Edward, Jonathan Pope Ivey, and Claire Wolfe.

2010-2011: William Tyler Bradley, Isaac Samuel Bryan, Zachary Aaron Bryan, Lindsay Victoria Burns, Jeremiah A. Coleman, Kerri P. Craven, Hannah Brooke Everhart, Briana Marie Fiegen, Amy Christine Grady, Natalie S. Martin, Jesse Everette Mims, Timothy Darrell Shatley, Matthew Blaine Tysinger

2009-2010: Alana Miel Baird, Rachel Eskridge, Kristen Eure, Kristen Johnson, Kimberly Diane Mikeal, Jessica Miller, Cayce Brook Poindexter, Katherine Elizabeth Powers, Andy Mack (Trey) Royall III, Misty Annette Silver, Hannah Smith, Jennifer Anne Tabat, Caitlin Thomas Williams, Grady Lee Withers.

2008-2009: Thomas Thornton Grant, John B. Grubb, Victoria Michelle Hayes, Susanna James, Stephen C. Loftus, Jason Pearson, Jacob Wandler, and William Field Wood.

2007-2008: Abigail C. Bishop and Audrey Marie Fowler

2005-2006: Emily Calhoun, Lindsey Everhart, Jennifer Farrell, Thomas Hefner, Mitchell Jareo IV, Shirley Law, and Remi Wingo
Dr. Jeff Hirst: While Pi Mu Epsilon memberships have only been awarded to Appalachian students previously, we have decided to honor Jeff Hirst at this time in order to publicly recognize his longterm service as honors coordinator along with the impressive number of student theses he has supervised and mathematical papers he has published. We applaud Jeff's efforts to encourage student scholarly activity in the department.

2003-2004: John David Foley, Wendy Anne Lewis, Katie Louise Booth, Kevin C. White, Jeremiah F. Hallstrom, Amanda Jo Poteet, John D. Ferguson, Jr., Eleanor McNair Abernethy, and Brent W. Woodruff

2002: Amber L. Constant, Jonathan E. Daniel, Andrew R. Porterfield, Shannon D. Pruitt, Timothy R. Racz, and Karen Y. Shelton

2001: Brooke H. Cranswick, Erika E. Denison, Melanie J. Edens, Jenna L. Fariss, Sylvia L. Lanier, and Alan T. Marion

2004 Induction Ceremony